2019 Election Results: Regional Standing Committees of the Econometric Society

Tuesday, January 8, 2019

I am happy to announce the results of the elections of voting members
of the Regional Standing Committees of the Econometric Society.
The newly elected members are:

Yaw Nyarko
New York University

Been-Lon Chen
Institute of Economics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Jessica Pan
National University of Singapore and Institute of Labor Economics

Peter Bossaerts
The University of Melbourne

At-large Members Elected to Represent the Council of the Econometric Society

Thursday, December 20, 2018

I am pleased to announce that Daron Acemoglou and Dilip Mookherjee have been elected as At-large members representing the Council of the Econometric Society effective January 1st, 2019. They succeed Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg and Andrew McLennan. The Society is very grateful to both the incoming and outgoing At-large members for their continued services. 

Enrique Sentana
Executive Vice-President
Econometric Society

The Econometric Society is Pleased to Announce the Results of the 2018 Election of Officers and Council

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Following are the results of the 2018 Election of Officers and Council.

Stephen Morris, Princeton University, has been elected President.

Orazio Attanasio, University College London and Institute for Fiscal Studies, has been elected First Vice President.

Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg, Yale University, has been elected Second Vice President.

Enrique Sentana, CEMFI, has been elected Executive Vice President.

The following have been elected to the Council.

ES World Congress 2020 Announced

Thursday, October 25, 2018

We are pleased to announce that the next World Congress of the Econometric Society will take place at Bocconi University in Milan (Italy) on August 17-21, 2020. The Programme Chairs are Victor Chernozhukov (MIT), Johannes Hörner (Yale) and Eliana La Ferrara (Bocconi) and the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee is Massimiliano Marcellino.

Econometric Society Fellows Receive 2018 Nobel Prize in Economics

Monday, October 8, 2018

The Econometric Society would like to congratulate William D. Nordhaus and Paul M. Romer, both Fellows of the Econometric Society, for being awarded the Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018. Prof. Nordhaus (Yale University), elected Fellow of the Society in 1984, was awarded the Nobel Prize for his work on integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis. Prof.

Econometrica Author Receives the 2018 Rolf Nevalinna Prize

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

The Econometric Society is pleased to report that Professor Costis Daskalakis, a member of the Society, has been awarded the 2018 Rolf Nevalinna Prize.  The prize is awarded for outstanding contributions on the mathematical aspects of informational sciences.  Among his contributions acknowledged by the prize is his 2017 Econometrica paper, “Strong Duality for a Multiple Good Monopolist” (with Alan Deckelbaum and Christos Tzamos). 

The Econometric Society Thanks EVP Bernard Salanié and Welcomes New EVP Enrique Sentana

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Dear Members of the Econometric Society,

The transition of the Society’s Executive Vice President formally took place May 1, 2018 when Bernard Salanié (Columbia University) stepped down after five years of distinguished leadership and Enrique Sentana (CEMFI, Madrid) took his place. 

2018 Frisch Medal Awarded

Thursday, May 24, 2018

The Econometric Society is pleased to announce that the 2018 Frisch Medal selection committee of Torsten Persson, Dave Donaldson and Igal Hendel has awarded this year’s Frisch Medal of the Econometric Society to Gabriel Ahlfeldt, Stephen Redding, Daniel Sturm, and Nikolaus Wolf for their paper, "The Economics of Density: Evidence from the Berlin Wall”, (Econometrica, Vol. 83, No. 6, November 2015, 2127–2189)