2024 European Summer Meeting, Rotterdam

August 26 - 30, 2024
Rotterdam, Netherlands

2024 European meeting of the Econometric Society

August 26-30, 2024
Erasmus University at Rotterdam, Netherlands
Click here for meeting website.
Click here for Erasmus University Campus Map.

We are pleased to announce that the 2024 Econometric Society European Meetings (ESEM2024) hosted by the Erasmus School of Economics will take place August 26 to August 30, 2024, in Rotterdam, Netherlands.

Erasmus School of Economics is delighted to invite you to participate in the 76th European meeting of the Econometric Society and the 39th meeting of the European Economic Association (EEA).

The 2024 ESEM Scientific Program Chairs are Christian Hellwig (Toulouse School of Economics) and Olivier Scaillet (University of Geneva and Swiss Finance Institute).The Local Organizing Committee Chair is Philip Hans Franses (Erasmus School of Economics).

Important dates

Submission Opens: January 15, 2024
Submissions close: February 29, 2024
Decisions announced: May 1, 2024
Registration for presenting authors opens: May 1, 2024
Registration deadline for presenting authors: May 16, 2024
Release of the preliminary program: June 20, 2024

Plenary Lectures

Samuel S. Kortum
Yale University
Fisher-Schultz Lecture
Date – 08/26/2024

Hélène Rey
London Business School
Jean Jacques Laffont Lecture
Date - 08/29/2024

Presidential Address

Eliana La Ferrara
Harvard Kennedy School
Date – 08/28/2024

Hotelling Lectures in Economic Theory

Alberto Bisin
New York University
Date - 08/30/2024

On the Circulation of Elites: Culture, Institutions, and Socio-economic Growth
Lecture 1: Cultural dynamics
Lecture 2: Institutional dynamics
Lecture 3: Political economy theories of long-run socio-economic growth

Invited Sessions

Tuesday, August 27
Spatial Economics: David Nagy (CREI) and Jonathan Dingel (Chicago Booth)
Labour/Development: Paula Gobbi (ULB) and Gabriel Ulyssea (UCL)

Wednesday, August 28
Finance: Motohiro Yogo (Princeton) and Victoria Vanasco (CREI)
Inequality Redistribution and Taxation: Andreas Fagereng (BI Norway) and Florian Scheuer (Zurich)

Thursday, August 29
Econometrics: Clément De Chaisemartin (Sciences Po) and Peter Hull (Brown)
Theory of Markets and Algorithms: Vasiliki Skreta (UCL/Texas) and Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft)

Wednesday, August 28, Lunch Session
Replication Challenges in Economics and Econometrics: 
Chair: Olivier Scaillet (UNIGE and SFI)
Anna Dreber (Stockholm School of Economics)
Victor Gay (TSE)
Maia Guell (CUNEF and Edinburgh)
Joan Llull (IAE-CSIC and BSE)
Christophe Pérignon (HEC Paris and CASCAD)

Local Organizing Committee

Chair: Philip Hans Franses
Committee: Aart Gerritsen, Vadym Volosovych, Agnieszka Markiewicz, Anne Boring, Andreas Pick, Carlos Riumallo Herl, Michiel Gerritse, Wendun Wang, Annika Camehl
Supported by: Ronald de Groot, Communications Erasmus School of Economics, and Marije Stofregen, Congress & Event Services

Econometric Society General Sponsors

Fundación BBVA
Cowles Foundation logo
D E Shaw & Co logo
European Central Bank logo
New York University Abu Dhabi logo