2023 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society, Nairobi, Kenya (Hybrid)

2023 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (HYBRID)
June 1-3, 2023

The 2023 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (AFES 2023) will be hosted by The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) in Nairobi, Kenya from June 1 to 3, 2023.

Important Dates
Paper Submission is open: (only full papers count as submissions)
Submission Deadline Extended: January 22, 2023
Paper Status Notification: March 1, 2023
Registration opens: March 1, 2023
Registration deadline for presenters only: March 24, 2023
Early registration: before April 23, 2023
Late registration: after April 23, 2023

Submissions at: https://app.oxfordabstracts.com/stages/4864/submitter

Website: https://aercafrica.org/

Alternative Website: https://www.africaeconometricsociety.com/conferences

Paper Submissions
The deadline for submissions is extended to January 22, 2023. Papers can only be submitted (only full papers count) electronically in pdf format through Oxford Abstracts website on https://app.oxfordabstracts.com/stages/4864/submitter. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Econometric Society, and all participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at https://www.econometricsociety.org/membership

When submitting your paper through Oxford Abstracts, please use the same email address as your Econometric Society account and choose from the drop-down menu the appropriate field and program committee member associated with your paper topic. Note that your submission details can be edited throughout the submission process up until the submission deadline of January 15, 2023.

Please direct questions to [email protected] for more information or visit the conference website https://aercafrica.org/

Confirmed Keynote Speakers
Daron Acemoglu (MIT)
Ernest Aryeetey (The African Research Universities Alliance, Univ. of Ghana)
Esther Duflo (MIT), Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, 2019.
Nathan Nunn (University of British Colombia)
James Robinson (University of Chicago)
Kevin Chuka Urama (African Development Bank), Vice President/Chief Economist
Léonard Wantchekon (Princeton University)

Programme Chair: Théophile Azomahou (AERC)
Go to bottom of document to see the full program committee.

Organizing Committee: Théophile Azomahou (AERC), Senvy Maistry (AERC), Dianah Muchai (AERC), Lucy Odhiambo (AERC), Daniel Njiru (AERC), Eleni Yitbarek (University of Pretoria), Anthony Simpasa (AfDB), Hammed Amusa (AfDB).

Financial Support will be available to young researchers from Africa who wish to present papers during the conference. The allocation of the grants will be on a competitive basis. The grants will partially cover travel and accommodation expenses for onsite participants. Applications should be done at the time of paper submission. Application dossier shall contain: i) a cover letter with a detailed mention of affiliation, role and 2 references that may be contacted in the selection process, ii) a CV. The application shall be submitted via the Oxford Abstracts website during the paper submission process – option: "Application for financial support". Submission deadline: January 15, 2023. Selected applicants will be informed at the time of Paper Status Notification by March 1, 2023.

Econometric Society Africa Region's Young Economist Best Paper Award.
A competition for the best paper from young economists is open for papers presented in the contributed sessions at the conference by young scholars. The main target of the award is young scholars from underfunded institutions especially Africa based young scholars. For co-authored papers, the program committee will ensure that the candidate is the major contributor to the paper. The price will consist of 500 USD minimum, and the recipient's enrolment in the AERC attachment programme (https://aercafrica.org/attachment-programmes/). Submission should be done via the Oxford Abstracts website during the paper submission process – option: "Application to the Econometric Society Africa Region's Young Economist Best Paper Award". The winner will be announced during the general assembly at the conference.

Contact: For further information, please contact the conference coordinator at [email protected]

Full Programme Committee: Njuguna Ndung’u (AERC), Théophile Azomahou (AERC), Abebe Shimeles (AERC), Yaw Nyarko (New York University), Prosper Dovonon (Concordia University), Eleni Yitbarek (University of Pretoria), Dianah Muchai (AERC), Scholastica Odhiambo (AERC), Mark Korir (AERC), Victor Murinde (SOAS University of London), Andy Mckay (University of Sussex), Bernadette Dia Kamgnia, (CAPEC), Finn Tarp (University of Copenhagen), Leonce Ndikumana (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Hammed Amusa (AfDB), Francis Leni Anguyo (AfDB), Alexandre Kopoin (AfDB), Lacina Balma (AfDB), Dawit Tessema (AfDB), Adamon Mukasa (AfDB), Andinet Woldemichael (AfDB), Anthony Simpasa (AfDB), Abdoulaye Seck (University Cheikh Anta Diop), Wisdom Akpalu (Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration), Abbi M. Kedir (University of Sheffield), Victor Okoruwa (University of Ibadan), Issouf Soumaré (Université Laval), Rodney Smith (University of Maryland), Olawale Ogunkola (University of Ibadan), Romain Houssa (University of Namur), Alastaire Alinsato (University of Abomey-Calavi), Pierre Mohnen (UNU-MERIT), James Robinson (University of Chicago), Beatrice Kalinda Mkenda (University of Dar es Salaam School of Economics), Justice Nonvignon (Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, AU), Steve Koch (University of Pretoria), Mesay Gebresilasse (Amherst College), Constantine Manda (Eco. Social Research Foundation), John Ele-Ojo Ataguba (University of Cape Town), Roland Pongou (University of Ottawa), Jean-Baptiste Tondji (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley), J. Atsu Amegashie (University of Guelph), Ian Heffernan (African School of Economics), Marlene Koffi (University of Toronto), Maryse Kathleen Ngangoue (UCLA Anderson School of Management), Sophie Osotimehin (Universite du Quebec à Montreal), Kenza Benhima (University of Lausanne DEEP-HEC), Abderrahim Taamouti (University of Liverpool), Sessi Tokpavi (University of Orléans), Firmin Doko (University of Adelaide), Antoine Djogbenou (York University), Ismael Mourifie (University of Toronto), Dalia Ghanem (UC Davis), Pierre Nguimkeu (Georgia State University), Desire Kedagni (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill), Harounan Kazianga (Oklahoma State University), Lemma W. Senbet (University at Buffalo, SUNY), Ameet Morjaria (Northwestern University).