Best Paper Awards

Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics Best Paper Awards

The Econometric Society adopted a "Best Paper Prize" in 2015 for its two journals Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics. These awards highlight the best paper published in each of the journals in the areas of quantitative economics and economic theory. Prior to 2019, the journals' Editors and Co-Editors selected a list of nominees, from which the Associate Editors elected the winning paper.

In 2019, the process was enhanced, awarding the prize by an external committee appointed by the President of the Society, as described in Section 8.5 of the Society’s Rules and Procedures, alternating annually between QE and TE. The award is made to a single paper. The award will be presented to a paper published in the journal during the past two years defined as any paper published in any of the two volumes in the two calendar years immediately preceding the year in which the award is made. 

The following papers have been awarded the Best Paper Prize:


Pooyan Amir-Ahmadi and Thorsten Drautzburg , “Identification and Inference with Ranking Restrictions", Quantitative Economics, Volume 12, Issue 1, 1–39.
Selection Committee: Elie Tamer (Chair), Kate Ho, Francesca Molinari, José-Victor Rios-Rull, Jean Marc Robin, and Gianluca Violante


Doruk Cetemen, Ilwoo Hwang, and Ayça Kaya, "Uncertainty-Driven Cooperation", Theoretical Economics, Volume 15, Issue 3, 1023–1058.
Selection Committee: Bart Lipman (Chair), Giuseppe Moscarini, Eddie Dekel, Debraj Ray and Leeat Yariv

Naoki Aizawa, "Labor market sorting and health insurance system design", Quantitative Economics, Volume 10, Issue 4, 1401–1451.
Selection Committee:  José Víctor Ríos Rull (Chair),  Francesca Molinari and Jean-Marc Robin


Simone Galperti,  "A Theory of Personal Budgeting", Theoretical Economics, Volume 14, Issue 1, 173--210.
Selection Committee: Debraj Ray (Chair), Eddie Dekel and Glenn Ellison


Jaromír Kovářík, Friederike Mengel, and José Gabriel Romero, "Learning in Network Games," Quantitative Economics, Volume 9, Issue 1,  85-139. 
Selection Committee: Elie Tamer (Chair), Nikhil Agarwal, and Juan F. Rubio-Ramírez


No paper chosen in 2018 during the award transition process.


William Diamond and Nikhil Agarwal, “Latent indices in assortative matching models,” Quantitative Economics, Volume 8, Issue 3, 685–728.

Péter Eső and Balázs Szentes, “Dynamic contracting: An irrelevance theorem,” Theoretical Economics, Volume 12, Issue 1, 109-139.


Brendan Kline and Elie Tamer, "Bayesian inference in a class of partially identified models,” Quantitative Economics, Volume 7, Issue 2, 329-366.

Alexander Wolitzky, "Mechanism design with maxmin agents: theory and an application to bilateral trade,” Theoretical Economics, Volume 11, Issue 3, 971-1004.


Eric Weese, "Political Mergers as Coalition Formation: An Analysis of the Heisei Municipal Amalgamations", Quantitative Economics, Volume 6, Issue 2, 257–307.

Dilip Abreu, David G. Pearce, and Ennio Stacchetti, "One-sided Uncertainty and Delay in Reputational Bargaining", Theoretical Economics, Volume 10, Issue 3, 719–773.