2011 Election of Officers and Council

Thursday, November 17, 2011

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2011 Election of Officers and Council.

Manuel Arellano, CEMFI, has been elected Second Vice-President, and will be Vice-President in 2013, and President in 2014.

Rafael Repullo, CEMFI, will be Executive Vice-President until June 30, 2012. Hyun Song Shin, Princeton University, will be Executive Vice-President beginning July 1, 2012.

The following have been elected or reelected to the Council:

2015 World Congress

Monday, October 17, 2011

The next World Congress of the Econometric Society will take place in the summer of 2015 at a location to be decided by the Executive Committee in August 2012. Expressions of interest by potential local organizers are being solicited. The proposed venue should have a large auditorium for the plenary lectures(for about 1,000 participants), 3-4 large rooms for the parallel invited lectures (for about 300 participants each), and 30-32 smaller rooms for the parallel contributed sessions.

2011 Nobel Prize

Monday, October 10, 2011

The 2011 Nobel Prize in Economics has been awarded to Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims "for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy." Sargent was elected Fellow in 1976 and was President in 2005, and Sims was elected Fellow in 1974 and was President in 1995.

2010 Frisch Medal Award

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

The Frisch Medal has been established by the Econometric Society to encourage the creation of good applied work and its submission to Econometrica. It is given every two years for an applied article (empirical or theoretical) published in Econometrica during the past five years.

2010 World Congress Call for Papers

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

The Tenth World Congress of the Econometric Society will take place in Shanghai, China, August 17-21, 2010. Papers presented at the Congress will represent a broad spectrum of theoretical and applied economics and econometrics. The invited program will consist of five named lectures, fifteen paired invited sessions, and three plenary policy sessions. Full details are available at the Congress website, http://www.eswc2010.com/ .