In Memoriam: Anthony B. Atkinson

Monday, January 2, 2017

The Society is sad to report the passing of Anthony Atkinson, who served as its President in 1988. 

Anthony Atkinson (1944-2017), by Richard Blundell, President of the Econometric Society in 2006 and Ian Preston, University College London. 

Sir Tony Atkinson, economist and campaigner; 1944-2017The Financial Times, January 2, 2017.

2016 Election of At-Large Members of the Executive Committee

Saturday, December 31, 2016

We are pleased to announce that Penny Koujianou-Goldberg (Yale University) and Whitney Newey (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) have been elected At-Large members of the Executive Committee.

The Society expresses its gratitude to Matthew Jackson, Itzhak Gilboa and Arunava Sen for their service.

Voting open for Regional Standing Committee elections

Friday, December 9, 2016

Elections for voting members of the Regional Standing Committees are now open.  Participating in these elections allow you to have a voice in the governance of the Society in your Region, where most of our activities take place.

  The list of candidates equals twice the number of vacancies in each region. Candidates for these slots are Fellows or members from the region, or Fellows from another region with a secondary affiliation to the region.

The voting procedure is rank-order. More detailed instructions are included on the voting page.

2016 Election of Officers and Council

Tuesday, November 8, 2016


We are pleased to announce the results of the 2016 Election of Officers and Council.

Drew Fudenberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been elected President.

Timothy Besley, London School of Economics, has been elected First Vice-President.

Stephen Morris, Princeton University, has been elected Second Vice-President. He will be First Vice-President in 2018, and President in 2019.

Bernard Salanié, Columbia University, has been elected Executive Vice-President.

The following have been elected to the Council.

2016 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Monday, October 10, 2016

The Society proudly congratulates Oliver Hart (Econometric Society Fellow and Council member 1983-89; 1994-98), and its 73rd President, Bengt Holmström, for receiving the 2016 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for their work on contracts. Bengt Holmström was the Fisher-Schultz Lecturer in 1997 and Oliver Hart in 1988.

Oliver Hart

New editors at Theoretical Economics and Quantitative Economics

Thursday, September 22, 2016

The editors of TE and QE, George Mailath and Rosa Matzkin, are completing their terms on June 30, 2017. The society in general, and I in particular, are grateful to them for all the wonderful work they've done for these journals, the society and the profession.

While it is sad to see George and Rosa leave the editorship of TE and QE, we are delighted that Rani Spiegler and Chris Taber have agreed to become the new editors; we are excited to see them take the helm and lead these journals forward.


Eddie Dekel

President, Econometric Society   

Best Paper Prizes

Thursday, September 22, 2016

The Econometric Society adopted a "Best Paper Prize" this year for its two journals Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics.  These awards highlight the best paper published in each of the journals in the areas of theoretical and empirical quantitative economics and economic theory. Winners are selected by the journals' editors and co-editors.

We are pleased to announce the following papers have been awarded the 2015 "Best Paper Prize":