2017 Econometric Society European Meeting Awards

Friday, September 1, 2017

Congratulations to the winners of the ESEM Award 2017 at the 70th European Meeting of the Econometric Society.

In recognition of the two best papers in applied economics presented by young researchers.

"Dynamics in Gun Ownership and Crime - Evidence from the Aftermath of Sandy Hook"
Presented by: David Schindler, Tilburg University, joint with Christoph Koenig, Bristol University


2016 Best Paper Prizes

Thursday, May 25, 2017

The Econometric Society congratulates the 2016 winners of the "Best Paper Prize" for its two journals Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics.  These awards highlight the best paper published in each of the journals in the areas of theoretical and empirical quantitative economics and economic theory. Winners are selected by the journals' editors and co-editors.

We are pleased to announce the following papers have been awarded the 2016 "Best Paper Prize":

2020 World Congress

Monday, February 6, 2017

Call for Expressions of Interest

The next World Congress of the Econometric Society will take place in August 2020 at a location to be decided by the Executive Committee in August 2017. Expressions of interest by potential local organizers are being solicited.

The World Congress is traditionally held mid-late August for 5 days, Monday through Friday, and includes a program of invited and contributed sessions, plenary lectures and social events.

In Memoriam: Anthony B. Atkinson

Monday, January 2, 2017

The Society is sad to report the passing of Anthony Atkinson, who served as its President in 1988. 

Anthony Atkinson (1944-2017), by Richard Blundell, President of the Econometric Society in 2006 and Ian Preston, University College London. 

Sir Tony Atkinson, economist and campaigner; 1944-2017The Financial Times, January 2, 2017.

2016 Election of At-Large Members of the Executive Committee

Saturday, December 31, 2016

We are pleased to announce that Penny Koujianou-Goldberg (Yale University) and Whitney Newey (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) have been elected At-Large members of the Executive Committee.

The Society expresses its gratitude to Matthew Jackson, Itzhak Gilboa and Arunava Sen for their service.

Voting open for Regional Standing Committee elections

Friday, December 9, 2016

Elections for voting members of the Regional Standing Committees are now open.  Participating in these elections allow you to have a voice in the governance of the Society in your Region, where most of our activities take place.

  The list of candidates equals twice the number of vacancies in each region. Candidates for these slots are Fellows or members from the region, or Fellows from another region with a secondary affiliation to the region.

The voting procedure is rank-order. More detailed instructions are included on the voting page.