Econometric Society Fellows Receive 2018 Nobel Prize in Economics

Monday, October 8, 2018

The Econometric Society would like to congratulate William D. Nordhaus and Paul M. Romer, both Fellows of the Econometric Society, for being awarded the Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018. Prof. Nordhaus (Yale University), elected Fellow of the Society in 1984, was awarded the Nobel Prize for his work on integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis. Prof.

Econometrica Author Receives the 2018 Rolf Nevalinna Prize

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

The Econometric Society is pleased to report that Professor Costis Daskalakis, a member of the Society, has been awarded the 2018 Rolf Nevalinna Prize.  The prize is awarded for outstanding contributions on the mathematical aspects of informational sciences.  Among his contributions acknowledged by the prize is his 2017 Econometrica paper, “Strong Duality for a Multiple Good Monopolist” (with Alan Deckelbaum and Christos Tzamos). 

The Econometric Society Thanks EVP Bernard Salanié and Welcomes New EVP Enrique Sentana

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Dear Members of the Econometric Society,

The transition of the Society’s Executive Vice President formally took place May 1, 2018 when Bernard Salanié (Columbia University) stepped down after five years of distinguished leadership and Enrique Sentana (CEMFI, Madrid) took his place. 

2018 Frisch Medal Awarded

Thursday, May 24, 2018

The Econometric Society is pleased to announce that the 2018 Frisch Medal selection committee of Torsten Persson, Dave Donaldson and Igal Hendel has awarded this year’s Frisch Medal of the Econometric Society to Gabriel Ahlfeldt, Stephen Redding, Daniel Sturm, and Nikolaus Wolf for their paper, "The Economics of Density: Evidence from the Berlin Wall”, (Econometrica, Vol. 83, No. 6, November 2015, 2127–2189)

2017 Best Paper Awards

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics Best Paper Awards

The Econometric Society congratulates the 2017 winners of the "Best Paper Prize" for its two journals Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics.  These awards highlight the best paper published in each of the journals in the areas of quantitative economics and economic theory. The journals' Editors and Co-Editors select a list of nominees, from which the Associate Editors elect the winning paper.

Econometric Society Welcomes a New General Manager

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

The Society welcomes Lyn Hogan as its new General Manager. It thanks her predecessor Claire Sashi for her work in ensuring the smooth functioning of our many activities and it wishes her the best in her future endeavors.

Lyn can be reached at [email protected] and her office will be housed at the Cowles Foundation, Yale University.

Newly Elected Executive Vice-President of the Society

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

I am pleased to announce that Enrique Sentana (CEMFI, Madrid) was elected by the Fellows to succeed Bernard Salanié (Columbia University) as Executive Vice-President of the Society. In this capacity, he will serve as both Secretary and Treasurer of the Society.  He will take over on May 1st, 2018.

Society Offices Relocate to the Cowles Foundation

Monday, January 22, 2018

The Society has just completed the relocation of its office from New York University to the Cowles Foundation. We gratefully acknowledge NYU for hosting our office since 2005.
The office address will now be:
Econometric Society
Cowles Foundation
Yale University
30 Hillhouse Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511

2017 Election of Fellows

Friday, November 17, 2017

We are pleased to announce the election of 20 new Fellows of the Econometric Society.

Elchanan Ben-Porath, Hebrew University

Mark Bils, University of Rochester

Stéphane Bonhomme, University of Chicago

David Donaldson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Juan Dubra, Universidad de Montevideo

Robert C. Feenstra, University of California, Davis

Sergio Firpo, Instituto Unibanco Professor of Economics at Insper

Richard Holden, University of New South Wales