The Econometric Society Announces Submission and Publication Fees For Its Three Journals

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

The Executive Committee of the Econometric Society has approved two modest fees associated with the submission and publication of papers in its three journals: Econometrica, Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics. 

The following fees will be implemented beginning Friday, May 1, 2020 for all original papers submitted after this date: a submission fee of $50 per paper and a publication fee currently set at $10 per page.

Update: No Plans to Postpone or Cancel World Congress

Tuesday, March 3, 2020

Because of the global challenges presented by COVID-19, many members have been 
asking whether we plan to postpone or cancel this summer's World Congress in Milan 
scheduled for August 17-August 21, 2020. Rest assured, we have no plans to postpone 
or cancel at this time. We want to let you know that the World Congress team at Bocconi 
University and the Econometric Society continue to plan confidently for the Congress. 

RSC Election Outcomes, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

We are pleased to report the election of the following members to their respective Regional Standing Committees. There were 599 members who voted in 2019 for the 2020 RSC. 

North America 

Steve Berry

Europe and Other Areas 

Michele Tertilt

Jean-Charles Rochet

Latin America 

Matias Cattaneo

Cecilia Machado


Yuichi Kitamura

Songnian Chen

Katsumi Shimotsu 


Yves Zenou

James Morley

2020 At-Large Members Elected to the Executive Committee

Saturday, November 23, 2019

I am pleased to announce that Hélène Rey (London Business School) and Larry Samuelson (Yale University) have been elected as At-large members representing the Council of the Econometric Society on the Executive Committee effective January 1st, 2020. They succeed Whitney Newey (MIT) and Rafael Repullo (CEMFI). The Society is very grateful to both the incoming and outgoing At-large members for their continued services. 

Enrique Sentana
Executive Vice-President
Econometric Society


The Society Announces the 2019 Election Results of its Officers and Council

Monday, November 11, 2019

The Econometric Society is pleased to announce the results of the 2019 Election of Officers and Council.

Orazio Attanasio, Yale University, has been elected President.

Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg, Yale University and the World Bank, has been elected First Vice-President. She will presumably become President in 2021.

Guido Tabellini, Bocconi University, has been elected Second Vice-President. He will presumably become First Vice-President in 2021 and President in 2022.

Enrique Sentana, CEMFI, has been elected Executive Vice-President.

Econometric Society Fellows Receive Nobel Prize in Economics

Monday, October 14, 2019

The Econometric Society would like to congratulate Abhijit Banerjee (MIT), Esther Duflo (MIT) and Michael Kremer (Harvard University), all three Fellows of the Econometric Society, for winning the Nobel Prize in economics today for their “experimental approach” to solving global poverty. Banerjee was elected a Fellow of the Society in 1995 and a Council member, 2005-2008. Duflo was elected a Fellow of the Society in 2010 and Kremer was elected a Fellow in 2008. 



Pinelopi Goldberg Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Econometric Society Officer, Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg, was among 100 new members and 25 foreign associates elected today to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in science. Goldberg, currently chief economist of the World Bank Group, is currently on public service leave from Yale University where she is the Elihu Professor of Economics.