2021 African Meeting

Jun 3 - 5, 2021

Ivory Coast


The 2021 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (AFES 2021)
Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Statistique et d’Economie Appliquée (ENSEA)
June 3 to 5, 2021

Important dates for paper submission:
Paper Submission Starts: December 21, 2020
Paper Submission Deadline: February 5, 2021
Paper Status Notification: February 26, 2021

Registration will open for non-presenting attendees in early January and for presenters directly after paper status notification. Registration categories and pricing are covered in detail below.

Papers shall be submitted electronically in pdf format. Each person may submit and present only one paper; however, each person may be a co-author of several papers submitted to the conference. The presenting author must be a member of the Econometric Society, and all participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at http://www.econometricsociety.org/.

Submissions at: http://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2021
Website: https://www.AfricaEconometricSociety.com/

The confirmed keynote speakers include:
Lisa Cook (Michigan State University)
Pascaline Dupas (Stanford University)
Pinelopi Goldberg (Yale University) will deliver the Presidential Address
James Heckman (University of Chicago, Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics – 2000)
Kirabo Jackson (Northwestern University)
Yaw Nyarko (New York University)

Manuel Arellano (CEMFI, Madrid) will deliver the 2021 Marschak lecture during the Summer School on June 2, 2021.

Conference Format: Hybrid – Both onsite and online participation/presentation will be allowed. All the presentations will be available on a virtual platform.

Conference Fees: When registration opens, payment can be made at the registration tab of https://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2021

Early registration - before April 15, 2021:
Onsite participation:
Regular fees: US$250  
Students’ fees: US$150

Online participation:  
Regular fees: US$150  
Students’ fees: US$100      
Non-presenter fees: US$50

Late registration - after April 15, 2021:
Onsite participation:  
Regular fees: US$300  
Students’ fees: US$200

Online participation:   
Presenters: Regular fees: US$200  
Students’ fees: US$150
Non-presenter fees: US$50

The deadline for submissions is February 5, 2021. Papers can only be submitted electronically in pdf format through Conference Maker website on https://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2021

Prior to the Meeting, the 2021 Summer School of the Econometric Society (SSES) will be hosted by ENSEA from May 25, to June 2, 2021. This Summer School will feature the 2021 Marschak lecture that will take place on June 2, 2021 and delivered by Manuel Arellano (CEMFI, Madrid). 

The 2021 SSES includes the following topics: (i) Causal inference and policy evaluation for (Quasi) experimental data and Non-experimental data, (ii) New developments on Panel data analysis methods, (iii) Bootstrap Methods, (iv) Financial Econometrics, (v) Macroeconometrics: Time series.

Confirmed lecturers are (in alphabetical order): Manuel Arellano (CEMFI, Madrid), Matias Cattaneo (Princeton University), Firmin Doko Tchatoka (University of Adelaide), Pascaline Dupas (Stanford University), Christian Gouriéroux (CREST, University of Toronto), and Michael Jansson (University of California, Berkeley).

More information on the Summer School is available at https://www.africaeconometricsociety.com/

Financial Support will be available to young researchers from Africa who wish to present papers during the conference. The allocation of the grants will be on a competitive basis. The grants will partially cover travel and accommodation expenses for onsite participants. Applications for grants should be sent to [email protected] by March 5, 2021 and should be accompanied by the applicant’s CV. Selected applicants will be informed by March 15, 2021.

Program Chairs:
Prosper Dovonon (Concordia University) and Ismael Mourifié (University of Toronto)

Local Organizing Committee:
Hugues Kouadio (ENSEA), Lewis Landry Gakpa (ENSEA), and Fe Doukoure (ENSEA).

Program Committee
J. Atsu Amegashie (University of Guelph)  
Yves Atchadé (Boston University)   
Hafedh Bouakez (HEC, Montreal)    
Louphou Coulibaly (University of Pittsburgh)  
Habiba Djebbari (Aix-Marseille University)  
Antoine Djogbenou (York University)   
Bruno Feunou (Bank of Canada)   
Sophie Osotimehin (UQAM)
Robert Garlick (Duke University)    
Dalia Ghanem (University of California, Davis)  
Ian Heffernan (African School of Economics)  
Désiré Kanga (Ensea, Abidjan)    
Désiré Kédagni (Iowa State University)   
Steve Koch (University of Pretoria)  
Marlene Koffi (University of Toronto)
Illenin Kondo (University of Notre Dame)
Romuald Méango (Max-Planck Institute)
Césaire Meh (Bank of Canada)
Abdoulaye Ndiaye (New York University)
Pierre Nguimkeu (Georgia State Univ.)
Dozie Okoye (Dalhousie University)
Roland Pongou (University of Ottawa)
Modibo Sidibé (Duke University)
Issouf Soumaré (Université Laval)
Abderrahim Taamouti (Durham Univ.)
Roméo Tédongap (ESSEC, Paris)
Georges Tsafack (Univ. of Rhode Island)