WORLD CONGRESS 2020: Congress Site Open Through Aug. 21, 2021

Aug 17 - 21, 2020

All invited and contributed session recordings are available On Demand through August 21, 2021 by logging into the Congress web site (instructions below). If you did not originally register for the Congress, please follow the "Need to Register?" instructons below or go to the Home Page of the Society's main web site.
If you registered for the Confress, please go to:  
Login—the email with which you registered
Password: eswc2020

Need to Register?
If you did not previously register for the Congress, but would like to access the 60 live-to-recorded sessions and the 1,288 contributed sessions (accessible until August 21, 2021) please clickon the link below to register and pay. The one-time fee is $20.00. Please email your registration receipt to [email protected] and your registration will be activated. Once registered, to log in, please go to and use your registration email and the password eswc2020 to enter the site.

To register, go to

Additional Information
For the invited program, click here. To access the contributed session program, please click here.

World Congress Main Lecturers
Orazio Attanasio (Yale), Presidential Address
Esther Duflo (MIT), Fisher-Schultz Lecture
Roger Koenker (UIUC/UCL), Walras-Bowley Lecture
David Pearce (NYU), Frisch Memorial Lecture
Robert Shimer (Chicago), Cowles Lecture

Confirmed Semi-Plenary Lectures
Beliefs in Macroeconomics
Nicola Gennaoioli (Bocconi University) 
Yuriy Gorodnichenko (Berkeley)

Contests and Contracts
Juuso Välimäki (Aalto University Helsinki)  
Thomas Mariotti (Toulouse School of Economics)

Frontiers of Modern Econometrics  
Alfred Galichon (NYU) 
Stéphane Bonhomme (University of Chicago)

Frontiers of Time Series Econometrics
Anna Mikusheva (MIT)
Raffaella Giacomini (UCL) 

Health and Human Capital
Janet Currie (Princeton University) 
Nick Papageorge (Johns Hopkins University)

Macroeconomic Policy   
Monika Piazzesi (Stanford University) 
Ivan Werning (MIT)

Modern Causal Inference
Alberto Abadie (MIT) 
Christian Hansen (The University of Chicago Booth School)

Social Interactions and Development
Abhijit Banerjee (MIT) 
Matt Jackson (Stanford)

Topics in Industrial Organization
Leslie Marx (Duke) 
Volker Nocke (University Mannheim)

Topics in Microeconomic Theory  
Alexander Wolitzky (MIT)
Philippe Jehiel (UCL and PSE) 

Confirmed Policy Sessions

AI and ML in Empirical Research
Esther Duflo (MIT) 
Guido Imbens (Stanford Graduate School of Business)
Victor  Chernozhukov (MIT) 
Vasilis Syrgkanis (

Climate Change  
Philippe Aghion (Harvard University) 
Per Krusell (Stockholm University) 
Esteban Rossi-Hansberg (Princeton University)

Consumer Data and IT Firms: Customization vs. Discrimination
Jacques Cremer (Toulouse School of Economics)
MJike Schwarz (Microsoft)
Steve Tadelis (Berkeley)

Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg (Chair) (Yale University)
Oriana Bandiera (London School of Economics)
Richard Blundell (UCL)
Jan Eeckout (UPF-GSE Barcelona)
Debra Satz (Stanford)

Trade Wars and Trade Talks
Giovanni Maggi (Yale University) 
Ralph Ossa (Zurich)
Steve Redding (Princeton)

What can economics do for racial justice?
Eliana La Ferrara (Chair) (Bocconi University)
Kerwin Kofi Charles (Yale School of Management)
Lisa Cook (Michigan State University)
Imran Rasul (University College of London)
Leonard Wantchekon (Princeton University)

Gender Mentoring Session
Marina Halac (Chair) (Yale University)
Xiaohong Chen (Yale University)
Janet Currie (Princeton University)
Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln (Goethe University Frankfurt)
Nezih Guner (CEMFI)

In addition to the live presentations above,1,288 contributed papers from scholars representing every region of the world have been accepted for presentation and organzied into 334 sessions. Click here to go to the contributed session program. Contributed papers have been pre-recorded in sessions of four with each session group available for live scheduled Q&A during the Congress week. Recorded sessions will be available on the web site in a password-protected resource library to be accessed throughout the week.

We are very excited about this format because it allows all presenters to work around time zones and potential technical glitches to present their work while still interacting with and receiving feedback from colleagues.

At the same time, several unique software features will be available throughout the meeting including live networking rooms, both general and by topic, chat functions, and virtual exhibitor booths, among other features. The Society will also present live its Frisch Medal and other awards. Finally, while we cannot visit Bocconi University and Milan in person, Bocconi University’s beautiful buildings, surrounding city and hospitality will be available virtually during the full Congress.

Program Chairs: Victor Chernozhukov (MIT), Emmanuel Farhi (Harvard), Johannes Hörner (Yale) and Eliana La Ferrara (Bocconi)

Local Organizing Committee: Massimiliano Marcellino (Chair), Jerome Adda, Maristella Botticini and Marco Ottaviani

Virtual World Congress Committee: Larry Samuelson, Chair (Yale), Isaiah Andrews (Harvard), Orazio Attanasio (Yale), Johannes Hörner (Yale), Massimiliano Marcellino (Bocconi), Francesca Molinari (Cornell), Guido Tabellini (Bocconi)

Registration closed Aug. 7, 2020.

Membership in the Econometric Society
While membership is not required for non-presenters, we would welcome your support. To join or renew a membership, please visit

General questions may be sent to [email protected] and queries about the scientific portion of the program to program chairs: Victor Chernozhukov (Econometrics) [email protected], Johannes Hörner (Theory) [email protected] or Eliana La Ferrara (Applied) [email protected].