2018 Africa Meeting

Jul 12 - 14, 2018

Cotonou, Benin


Submissions: http://http://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2018
Website: http://http://www.africametrics.org/

The 2018 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (AFES 2018), hosted by the African School of Economics (ASE) will be held at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Cotonou, Benin from 12th to 14th July 2018.

The Presidential Address will be delivered by Tim Besley (London School of Economics). In addition to submitted papers there will be six invited lectures. The invited speakers include:

Sylvain Chassang (New York University)
Eliana La Ferrara (Università Bocconi) 

Atif Mian (Princeton University)
Roger Myerson (University of Chicago, 2007 Nobel Prize)

Prior to the Meeting, the 2018 Summer Institute of the Econometric Society (SIES) will take place at Chant d’Oiseau in Cotonou from July 5 to July 11, 2018 and will gather students and junior faculty from universities around the African continent as well as overseas. The Summer Institute will cover topics including Advances in Development Economics, Theory of Organizations, and Structural Econometrics.

The deadline for submissions is March 9, 2018. Papers can only be submitted electronically in pdf format through Conference Maker website on http://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2018.  At least one of the authors must be a member of the Econometric Society, and all participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at http://www.econometricsociety.org. Each person may submit and present only one paper; however, each person is allowed to be a co-author of several papers submitted to the conference.

Conference Fees

US$140 for early registration, before May 28, 2018
US$170 for registration, after May 28, 2018

Financial support will be available to young researchers from Africa who wish to present papers during the conference. The allocation of the grants will be on a competitive basis and applications will be evaluated by a review committee. The grants will cover travel and accommodation expenses. Applications for grants should be sent to [email protected] (http://[email protected]) by March 1, 2018 and should be accompanied by the applicant’s CV. Selected applicants will be informed by April 15, 2018.

Visa information: Travelers with an African country-issued passport do not need an entry visa for visits up to 90-day. Other travelers may need one. More information regarding visa applications can be found at http://africametrics.org/18th-annual-conference-on-econometric-analysis-and-policy-challenges-in-africa/welcome/

The program chairs are Leonard Wantchekon (Princeton University) and Prosper Dovonon (Concordia University). The local organizing committee chair is Alice Bonou (African School of Economics).  

Program Committee

Bhorat, Harnoon (University of Cape Town)
Blimpo, Moussa (World Bank)
Bonou, Alice (African School of Economics)
Doko Tchatoka, Firmin (University of Adelaide, Australia)
Eissa, Nada (Georgetown University)
El-Gamal, Mahmoud (Rice University)
Habyarimana, James (Georgetown University)
Heffernan, Ian (African School of Economics)
Jouini, Elyès (Universite de Paris Dauphine)
Kotchoni, Rachidi (Universite de Paris Nanterre)
Morjaria, Ameet (Northwestern University)
Mourifie, Ismael (University of Toronto)
Murinde, Victor (SOAS University of London, UK)
Nguimkeu, Pierre (Georgia State University)
Okoye, Dozie (Dalhousie University)
Osili, Una Okonkwo (Purdue University)
Quartey, Peter (University of Ghana)
Soumare, Issouf (Université Laval)
Suri, Tavneet (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Thomas, Duncan (Duke University)