2017 Africa Meeting

Jun 29 - Jul 1, 2017

Algiers, Algeria


Submissions:  http://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2017
Website: http://www.africametrics.org/

The 2017 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (AFES 2017) will be hosted by the Bank of Algeria. It will take place at the Ecole Supérieure des Banques in Algiers, Algeria, June 29 to July 1, 2017.  

The Presidential Address will be given by Drew Fudenberg (MIT). The Zvi Griliches Lectures will be given by Pierre André Chiappori (Columbia University). In addition to submitted papers there will be five invited lectures. The invited speakers are:

Philippe Aghion (Harvard University and College de France)

Raouf Boucekkine (Aix-Marseille School of Economics)

Jean-Charles Rochet (University of Zurich)

Bernard Salanié (Columbia University)

Jean Tirole (Toulouse School of Economics, 2014 Nobel Prize)

Submissions will be open from January 15, 2017. The deadline for submissions is March 12, 2017 (deadline extended). Papers can only be submitted electronically through Conference Maker on https://editorialexpress.com/conference/AFES2017. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Econometric Society, and all participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at http://www.econometricsociety.org/. Each person may submit only one paper and present only one paper. However, each person is allowed to be a co-author of several papers submitted to the conference.

Financial support will be availed to young African researchers who wish to present papers during the conference. The allocation of the grants will be on a competitive basis and applications will be evaluated by a review committee. The grants will cover travel and accommodation expenses. Applications for grants should be sent to [email protected] by March 12, 2017 (deadline extended) and should be accompanied by the applicant’s CV. Selected applicants will be informed by April 15, 2017.

The Program Chairs are Kaddour Hadri (Queen’s University Belfast) and Nour Meddahi (Toulouse School of Economics).  The Local Organizing Committee Chair is Djamel Ben Belkacem (Bank of Algeria).