2016 European Meeting

Aug 22 - 26, 2016

Geneva, Switzerland

EEA-ESEM 2016 Program (PDF)

The 69th European Meeting of the Econometric Society (ESEM) will take place in Geneva (Switzerland) from August 22 to 26, 2016. The Meeting is hosted by the Geneva School of Economics and Management and the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies of Geneva and will run in parallel with the 31th Annual Congress of the European Economic Association (EEA). Participants will be able to attend all sessions of both events.

The Presidential Address will be given by Eddie Dekel (Northwestern University and Tel Aviv University). The Fisher Schultz Lecture will be given by Mark Watson (Princeton University). The Laffont Lecture will be given by Debraj Ray (New York University).

The invited sessions of ESEM are:

- Advances in Contract Theory: Marina Halac (Columbia) and Thomas Mariotti (Toulouse)

- Advances in Econometrics: Valentina Corradi (Surrey) and Serena Ng (Columbia)

- Advances in Economic Theory: Roland Benabou (Princeton) and Leeat Yariv (Caltech)

- Advances in the Analysis of Macro and Financial Data: Refet Gurkaynak (Bilkent) and Fabio Canova (EUI)

- Bounded Rationality and Behavioural Economics: Botond Koszegi (Central European University) and Paola Manzini (St. Andrews)

- Economic Forecasting: Raffaella Giacomini (UCL) and Michael McCracken (St Louis FED)

Two prizes will be awarded for the best papers in applied economics (broadly taken to include applied theory, empirical economics, experimental economics, and computational economics) presented by young researchers (within ten years of their PhD, i.e., for the Geneva meetings, with PhD awarded not earlier than January 1, 2006). When submitting papers on Conference Maker, presenters who want to be considered for a prize will have to click a box to indicate their interest and to certify that they are eligible.

The Programme Chairs are Gilat Levy (London School of Economics) and Barbara Rossi (ICREA-Universitat Pompeu Fabra). The members of the Local Organizing Committee are Stefan Sperlich, Michel Girardin,  Jérémy Luchetti, Yvonne Sperlich, Cédric Tille and Martina Viarengo.

Submissions will be open from November 15, 2015. The deadline is February 15, 2016. Papers can only be submitted electronically through the EEA–ESEM 2016 website: http://www.eea-esem congresses.org/index.php

Each author may submit only one paper to the ESEM and only one paper to the EEA Congress. The same paper cannot be submitted to both ESEM and the EEA Congress. When submitting a paper, at least one co-author must be a member of the association to which the paper is being submitted, or join that association at the time of submission.