European Meeting

Aug 25 - 29, 2014

Toulouse, France

The 68th European Meeting of the Econometric Society (ESEM) will take place in Toulouse (France) from August 25 to 29, 2014. The Meeting is hosted by the Toulouse School of Economics and University Toulouse 1 Capitole and will run in parallel with the 29th Annual Congress of the European Economic Association (EEA). Participants will be able to attend all sessions of both events.

The Presidential Address will be given by Manuel Arellano (CEMFI, Madrid). The Fisher-Schultz Lecture will be given by Randall Wright (Wisconsin-Madison). The Laffont Lecture will be given by Harald Uhlig (Chicago).

The invited sessions of ESEM are
• “Corporate Finance”: Nicola Gennaioli (Bocconi), Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi)
• “Dynamic Mechanism Design”: Simon Board (UCLA), Allessandro Pavan (Northwestern)
• “Dynamics of Mergers”: Lanier Benkard (Stanford), Volker Nocke (Mannheim)
• “Econometrics”: Francesca Molinari (Cornell), Tao Zha (Atlanta Fed)
• “Macroeconomics”: Emmanuel Farhi (Harvard), Kjetil Storesletten (Oslo)
• “Trade”: Philipp Kircher (Edinburgh), Gianmarco Ottaviano (LSE)

Two prizes will be awarded for the best papers in applied economics (broadly taken to include applied theory, empirical economics, experimental economics, and computational economics) presented by young researchers (within ten years of their PhD, i.e., for the Toulouse meetings, with PhD awarded not earlier than January 1, 2004). When submitting papers on Webmeets, presenters who want to be considered for a prize will have to click a box to indicate their interest and to certify that they are eligible.

The Program Committee Chairs are Fabio Canova (European University Institute) and Sven Rady (University of Bonn). The Local Arrangements Chair is Vincent Réquillart (Toulouse School of Economics).

Submissions will be open from November 15, 2013. The deadline is February 15, 2014. Papers can only be submitted electronically through the EEA–ESEM 2014 website: Each author may submit only one paper to the ESEM and only one paper to the EEA Congress. The same paper cannot be submitted to both ESEM and the EEA Congress. When submitting a paper, at least one co-author must be a member of the association to which paper is being submitted, or join that association at the time of submission.