European Meeting

Aug 26 - 30, 2013

Gothenburg, Sweden

The 67th EUROPEAN MEETING of the ECONOMETRIC SOCIETY (ESEM) will take place in Gothenburg, Sweden, from August 26-30, 2013. The Meeting is hosted by the University of Gothenburg and will run in parallel with the 28th Congress of the European Economic Association (EEA).  Participants will be able to attend all sessions of both events.

The Presidential Address will be given by James J. Heckman (University of Chicago). The Fisher-Schultz Lecture will be given by Larry Samuelson (Yale University). The Laffont Lecture will be given by Quang Vuong (New York University).
The invited sessions of ESEM are
• “Computation of Dynamic Games”: Ulrich Doraszelski (University of Pennsylvania, Wharton), John Rust (Georgetown University)
• “Macroeconomic Dynamics and Finance”: Klaus Adam (University of Mannheim), Pierre Olivier Weill (University of California, Los Angeles)
• “Games and Incentives”: Françoise Forges (Université Paris-Dauphine), Johannes Horner (Yale University)
• “Dynamic Models with Latent Variables”: Stéphane Bonhomme (CEMFI), Ivana Komunjer (University of California, San Diego)
• “Empirical Timing Games”: Áureo de Paula (University College London), Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (University of Mannheim)
• “Liquidity: Economics and Empirics”: Christine Parlour (University of California, Berkeley), Dimitri Vayanos (London School of Economics)

Two prizes will be awarded for the best papers in applied economics (broadly taken to include applied theory, empirical economics, experimental economics, and computational economics) presented by young researchers (within ten years of their PhD, i.e., for the Gothenburg meetings, with PhD awarded not earlier than January 1, 2003) at its European Meeting. When submitting papers on Webmeets, presenters who want to be considered for a prize will have to click a box to indicate their interest and to certify that they are eligible.

The Program Committee Chairs are Jaap Abbring (Tilburg University) and Bruno Biais (Toulouse School of Economics).  The Local Arrangements Chair is Ola Olsson (University of Gothenburg).

Submissions will be open from November 15, 2012. The deadline is February 15, 2013. Papers can only be submitted electronically through the EEA–ESEM 2013 website:

Each author may submit only one paper to the ESEM and only one paper to the EEA Congress. The same paper cannot be submitted to both ESEM and the EEA Congress. When submitting a paper, at least one co-author must be a member of the association to which paper is being submitted, or join that association at the time of submission. You may join the Econometric Society at .