North American Winter Meeting

Jan 3 - 5, 2009

San Francisco, California


January 3-5, 2009, San Francisco, CA

The 2009 North American Winter Meeting of the Econometric Society will be held in San Francisco, CA, from January 3 to 5, 2009, as part of the annual meeting of the Allied Social Science Associations. The program will consist of contributed and invited papers. It is hoped that the research presented will represent a broad spectrum of applied and theoretical economics and econometrics. The program committee will
be chaired by Steven Durlauf of University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Prospective contributors are invited to submit titles and abstracts of their papers by April 25, 2008.  All abstracts are required to be submitted electronically as plain text at the conference website:

At least one co-author must be a member of the Society or must join prior to submission. This can be done at

Submitted abstracts should not be over 300 words in length. Each person may submit only one paper, or be a co-author on multiple submissions provided that if all such papers were accepted, no person would present more than one paper. Abstracts should represent original manuscripts not previously presented to any Econometric Society regional meeting or submitted to other professional organizations for presentation at these same meetings. The following information should also be provided electronically at the time of submission: the authors' names, affiliations, complete addresses, telephone and fax numbers; both the email addresses and web sites (if any) of the submitters; the JEL primary field name and number; and the paper title.

Program Committee:
Steven Durlauf, University of Wisconsin–Madison Program Chair
David Austen-Smith, Northwestern University (Political Economy)
Dirk Bergemann, Yale University (Information Economics)
Lawrence Blume, Cornell University (Game Theory)
Moshe Buchinsky, University of California, Los Angeles (Applied Econometrics)
Dennis Epple, Carnegie Mellon University (Public Economics)
Oded Galor, Brown University (Economic Growth)
Jinyong Hahn, University of California, Los Angeles (Econometric Theory)
Caroline Hoxby, Stanford University (Social Economics)
Guido Kuersteiner, University of California, Davis (Time Series)
Jonathan Levin, Stanford University (Industrial Organization)
Shelly Lundberg, University of Washington (Labor Economics)
James Rauch, University of California, San Diego (International Trade)
Hélène Rey, Princeton University (International Finance)
Manuel Santos, University of Miami (Computational Economics)
Chris Shannon, University of California, Berkeley (Mathematical Economics)
Steven Tadelis, University of California, Berkeley (Market Design)
Petra Todd, University of Pennsylvania (Microeconometrics/Empirical
Toni Whited, University of Wisconsin (Finance)
Noah Williams, Princeton University (Macroeconomics)
Justin Wolfers, Wharton (Behavioral Economics/Experimental Economics)
Tao Zha, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta (Macroeconomics)
Lin Zhou, Arizona State University (Social Choice Theory/Microeconomic Theory)